"We didn't do anything wrong but somehow we lost" - Stephen Elop (former Nokia CEO)

 

We are in the early throes of a Great Restructuring.  Our technologies are racing ahead, but our skills and organizations are lagging behind.

~Andrew McAfee

 

Due to the effects of digitization, the complexity of markets, regulations and dependencies is continuously increasing. New competitors and start-ups are pushing into markets that were believed to be stable.

 

Our world is changing, change is the new normal. Recurring, fully describable tasks will be automated, even in areas where we did not think this was possible just a short time ago. What remains are the exceptions, the situations that only humans can judge correctly. This is not a case for lone warriors, but for decentralised decision-making groups, very close to the local context.

 

The need for structured decision-making - across organizational boundaries

In the future more and more tasks will be taken over by knowledge workers of machines. As a consequence, humans will have to take over more and more complex situations and exceptions. In order to understand and correctly evaluate these, cooperation in teams, across departmental and organizational boundaries is becoming increasingly important. Our linear approach, trained for efficiency, stands in its way.

 

The quality and speed of corporate decisions is continuously decreasing

The value of a company is ultimately determined by the sum of the decisions it makes and how it puts them into action. Its assets, capabilities and structures are useless if executives and managers are not able to make the essential decisions more often right than wrong. This ratio deteriorates dramatically with increasing size and usually also with increasing age of organizations. What are the reasons for this?

 

Organizational structures from the past

In order to deliver scalable solutions, companies of increasing size need to deal with a growing number of processes. This is a great approach for a world where both the problem and the solution are known. Processes reduce the risk to an entire organization, but each layer of processes reduces the ability to be flexible and adaptable and, increasingly importantly, to respond to new opportunities and threats.

 

Effects of digitization

Neither an algorithm nor a person alone can master the challenges of the dawning exponential age. Emotional intelligence and the ability to look beyond silo boundaries are required.

 

Because complex problems almost always have to be solved across domains, too many people are often involved for too long. With each additional perspective, however, the effort increases exponentially. Managers therefore spend more and more time in coordination and more and more often without any result. As a consequence, essential decisions take longer and longer, or are ultimately made simply on gut feeling - and only occasionally in consideration of the corporate strategy. The number of wrong decisions is increasing. This leads companies to act even more conservatively and make decisions at even lower speeds. 

Most companies try to approach the problem as if it were a pure information problem. They invest massively in the provision of more and more data - and thus miss the core of the problem. Modern and ever better analysis tools cannot do the trick alone. 

We can no longer continue the way we have been going. 

In order to solve the challenges of the 21st century in a sustainable manner, we need a completely new, holistic approach. beeBlum.

 

Inprint & Privacy

  • Schwarz Instagram Icon
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

made with lots of     in Germany.

"We didn't do anything wrong but somehow we lost" - Stephen Elop (former Nokia CEO)

We are in the early throes of a Great Restructuring.  Our technologies are racing ahead, but our skills and organizations are lagging behind.

~Andrew McAfee

 

Durch die Effekte der Digitalisierung steigt die Komplexität der Märkte, Regularien und Abhängigkeiten kontinuierlich. Neue Konkurrenten und Startups drängen in sicher geglaubte Märkte.

Unsere Welt ist im Wandel, Veränderung die neue Normalität. Wiederkehrende, vollständig beschreibbare Aufgaben werden auch in Bereichen, in welchen wir das vor Kurzem noch nicht für möglich gehalten haben, automatisiert werden. Was bleibt sind die Ausnahmen, die Situationen die nur der Mensch richtig beurteilen kann. Hier sind keine Einzelkämpfer gefragt, sondern dezentrale Entscheidungsgremien, nah am Kontext.

Die Fähigkeit effektiv zu Entscheiden trennt die großartigen Unternehmen vom Rest

In Zukunft werden immer mehr Aufgaben von Wissensarbeitern von Maschinen übernommen. Menschen müssen in der Folge immer komplexere Situationen und Ausnahmen übernehmen. Um diese zu erfassen und richtig zu bewerten wird Zusammenarbeit in Teams, über Abteilungs- und Organisations- Grenzen hinweg immer wichtiger. Unsere auf Effizienz trainierte, lineare Herangehensweise steht uns dabei im Weg.

Die Qualität und Geschwindigkeit von Unternehmensentscheidungen nimmt kontinuierlich ab

Der Wert eines Unternehmens ergibt sich letztendlich aus der Summe der Entscheidungen, die es trifft und umsetzt. Seine Vermögenswerte, Fähigkeiten und Strukturen sind nutzlos, wenn Führungskräfte und Manager nicht in der Lage sind die wesentlichen Entscheidungen häufiger richtig als falsch treffen. Dieses Verhältnis wird mit zunehmender Größe und meist auch mit zunehmendem Alter von Organisationen dramatisch schlechter. Woran liegt das?

Organisationsformen aus einer anderen Zeit

Um skalierbare Lösungen liefern zu können behelfen sich Unternehmen mit zunehmender Größe mit immer mehr Prozessen. Das ist eine großartiger Ansatz für eine Welt, in der sowohl das Problem als auch die Lösung bekannt sind. Prozesse reduzieren das Risiko für ein Gesamtunternehmen, aber jede Prozessschicht reduziert die Fähigkeit, flexibel und anpassungsfähig zu sein und - was immer wichtiger wird - auf neue Chancen und Bedrohungen zu reagieren.

Folgen der Digitalisierung

Die Herausforderungen im anbrechenden exponentiellen Zeitalter kann weder ein Algorithmus, noch eine Person alleine meistern. Emotionale Intelligenz und der Blick über Silogrenzen sind gefordert.

Weil komplexe Probleme fast immer domänenübergreifend gelöst werden müssen, werden leicht zu viele Personen zu lange eingebunden. Mit jeder zusätzlichen Perspektive steigt der Aufwand jedoch exponentiell. Führungskräfte verbringen deshalb immer mehr Zeit in Abstimmungen und das immer häufiger ohne Ergebnis. 

So dauern wesentliche Entscheidungen immer länger, oder werden am Ende ganz einfach nach Bauchgefühl - und nur manchmal unter Berücksichtigung der Unternehmensstrategie getroffen. Die Zahl der Fehlentscheidungen steigt. In der Folge handeln Unternehmen noch vorsichtiger, entscheiden noch langsamer. 

Wir können nicht länger so weiter machen wie bisher. 

Die meisten Unternehmen versuchen das Problem so anzugehen, als wäre es ein reines Informationsproblem. Sie investieren massiv in die Bereitstellung von immer mehr Daten - und damit am Kern des Problems vorbei. Allein durch moderne und immer bessere Analysewerkzeuge kann die Zukunft etablierter Unternehmen nicht von schwarz zurück auf rosig gestellt werden. 

 

Um die Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts nachhaltig zu lösen, braucht es einen völlig neuen, holistischen Ansatz. beeBlum.

  • Schwarz Instagram Icon
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn