People tend to think in linear terms. When something grows, we expect it to keep growing. If it decreases, we expect it to decrease further. We are natural trend watchers and instinctively look for patterns. Not much more can algorithms do today... Trends are beautiful, especially because they're easy to follow. The problem is that they're not worth much if something unforeseen happens. 

Image by Robert Bye

"When spring comes, snow melts first at the periphery, because that is where it is most exposed"

Andy Grove

Identify disruptions and benefit more than others from opportunities

The mathematician Benoit Mandelbrot called the cycle of continuity, which is interrupted by discontinuities, the "Noah Effects and Joseph Effects". Joseph effects support, as in the biblical story, long periods of continuity. Noah effects, on the other hand, are like a great storm that creates a massive flood of disruptions and washes away the previous order. Business models based on the Joseph effects are interfered with by Noah effects and create new opportunities for those who are able to identify and adapt.

 

Throughout history, inflection points have always determined the subsequent phases of continuity. Inflection points cause a dramatic shift in the competitive dynamics of a viable system. They have the power to bring exponential change. Perhaps ten times bigger, ten times cheaper, ten times more comfortable and so on. Frequent triggers for turning points are not only technological change. Regulatory change, social change, demographic change, new connections (between formerly isolated elements, typically in the case of digital disruptions) or political change can also be the cause.

 

Future does not happen all at once. Rather, it unevenly unfolds over time. Everywhere around us its signs are always present. The challenge is to recognize them and interpret them in a meaningful way. The key is to look a little bit ahead and see that what everyone agrees on no longer works in a pattern of facts.

Snow melts at the edges first. 

Andy Grove, co-founder and former CEO of Intel, noted: "When spring comes, the snow first melts at the periphery, because that's where it's most exposed". This means nothing other than that changes in our markets take place at the periphery and not in the core, at the outliers and not in the mainstream, at the disturbers and not at the main players. Even the very best ideas for improvements or innovations can be found by looking at what customers are actually dealing with, how they use things, what excites, annoys, delights or surprises them. It's the small, insignificant clues of everyday life that make a big difference at the end of the day. 

 

For people who run organizations, this insight has very significant implications. If change happens first at the edges, we need to make sure that we see when it happens. We can't do that with Big Data and analytics. In order to approach this goal in a structured way in organizations, a completely new approach is needed: Contextual Data ("C-Data") Collaboration. With the help of C-Data we learn what people from all areas of our organisation have to say. Only with C-Data can we make truly data-driven decisions in complex situations. 

 

beeBlum has mechanisms to come into direct contact with the "edges". Managers are regularly confronted with different perspectives. Team-based structures allow a more open exchange than is typically practiced in the real world. This way, unpleasant and therefore even more valuable messages are given a place. By including customer-specific criteria, findings can be evaluated and tracked in a structured way.

Inprint & Privacy

  • Schwarz Instagram Icon
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

made with lots of     in Germany.

Menschen neigen dazu, linear zu denken. Wenn etwas wächst, erwarten wir, dass es weiter wächst. Wenn es abnimmt, erwarten wir, dass es weiter abnimmt. Wir sind natürliche Trendbeobachter und suchen instinktiv nach Mustern. Nicht viel mehr leisten Algorithmen heute... Trends sind schön, vor allem weil sie leicht zu verfolgen sind. Das Problem ist, dass sie nicht mehr viel wert sind, wenn etwas unvorhergesehenes geschieht. 

Image by Robert Bye

"When spring comes, snow melts first at the periphery, because that is where it is most exposed"

Andy Grove

Diskontinuitäten erkennen und überproportional von Chancen profitieren

Der Mathematiker Benoit Mandelbrot bezeichnete den Zyklus der Kontinuität, der von Diskontinuitäten unterbrochen wird, als "Noah-Effekte und Joseph-Effekte". Joseph-Effekte unterstützen, wie in der biblischen Geschichte, lange Perioden der Kontinuität. Noah-Effekte hingegen sind wie ein großer Sturm, der eine massive Flut von Diskontinuitäten erzeugt und die vorherige Ordnung wegspült. Geschäftsmodelle, die auf den Joseph-Effekten aufbauen, werden durch Noah-Effekte gestört und schaffen neue Möglichkeiten für diejenigen, die in der Lage sind, sich zu identifizieren und anzupassen.

 

Im Laufe der Geschichte haben immer die Wendepunkte die folgenden Phasen der Kontinuität bestimmt. Wendepunkte bewirken eine dramatische Verschiebung in der Wettbewerbsdynamik eines funktionierenden Systems. Sie haben die Macht, einen exponentiellen Wandel herbeizuführen. Vielleicht zehnmal größer, zehnmal billiger, zehnmal bequemer und so weiter. Häufige Auslöser für Wendepunkt sind nicht allein der technologischer Wandel. Auch regulatorischer Wandel, soziale Veränderungen, demografischer Wandel, neue Verbindungen (zwischen ehemals isolierten Elementen, typisch bei digitalen Disruptionen) oder politischer Wandel können die Ursache sein.

 

Zukunft geschieht nicht irgendwie auf einmal. Sie entfaltet sich vielmehr ungleichmäßig nach und nach. Überall um uns herum sind ihre Anzeichen bereits vorhanden. Die Kunst liegt darin sie zu erkennen und sinnvoll zu interpretieren. Der Schlüssel liegt darin, ein wenig nach vorne zu schauen und zu sehen, dass das, worüber sich alle einig sind, nicht mehr in die Tatsachenmuster passt.

Schnee schmilz an den Rändern zuerst

Andy Grove, Co-Founder und ehemaliger CEO von Intel stellte fest: "Wenn der Frühling kommt, schmilzt der Schnee zuerst an der Peripherie, denn dort ist er am exponiertesten". Das bedeutet nichts anderes als das Veränderungen in unseren Märkten an den Rändern und nicht im Kern, bei den Ausreißern und nicht im Mainstream, bei den Störern und nicht bei den Hauptakteuren stattfinden. Auch die allerbesten Ideen für Verbesserungen oder Innovationen finden sich, indem man sich anschaut, womit sich Kunden tatsächlich beschäftigen, wie sie Dinge verwenden, was sie aufregt, ärgert, freut oder verwundert. Es sind die kleinen, unauffälligen Hinweise des Alltags die am Ende wirklich Großes bewirken. 

Für Menschen, die Organisationen leiten, hat diese Erkenntnis ganz wesentliche Auswirkungen. Wenn Veränderungen zuerst an den Rändern passieren, müssen wir sicherstellen, dass wir sehen, wann dies geschieht. Dieses Ziel können wir nicht mit Big Data und Analytics erreichen. Um dieses Ziel in Organisationen strukturiert anzugehen, braucht es einen völlig neuen Ansatz: Contextual Data ("C-Data") Collaboration. Mit Hilfe von C-Data erfahren wir, was Menschen aus allen Bereichen unserer Organisation zu sagen haben. Erst mit C-Data können wir auch in komplexen Situationen wirklich datengetrieben entscheiden. 

 

beeBlum verfügt über Mechanismen, um in direkten Kontakt mit den "Rändern" zu kommen. Führungskräfte werden regelmäßig mit verschiedenen Perspektiven konfrontiert. Teambasierte Strukturen ermöglichen einen offeneren Austausch, als dies in der realen Welt typischerweise praktiziert wird. So bekommen auch unangenehme und darum umso wertvollere Nachrichten einen Platz. Durch die Einbeziehung kundenspezifischer Kriterien können Erkenntnisse strukturiert ausgewertet und nachverfolgt werden.

  • Schwarz Instagram Icon
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn